Safety is of utmost importance when utilizing industrial instrumentation. Some of the more common concerns are: contamination due to faulty equipment; protection from electromagnetic interference; meeting strict safety requirements in potentially explosive environments.

Winters’ customers rely on certifying agencies such as Factory Mutual, Canadian Standards Association and Underwriters Laboratories to ensure that these products are safe. These agencies examine, test and certify that each product has been designed to meet specific standards for certain applications, hazardous locations or specific electrical situations.

Certifying agencies enable Winters to mark approved products with the corresponding standard committee’s label, ensuring that these particular products have been tested and meet those specific standards.

  • ISO 9001
  • ASME B40.1
  • UL/ULC
  • CSA
  • CE
  • USA Safe Drinking Water Act (SDWA)
  • 3A
  • NATO
  • CRN
  • FM
  • NACE
  • NSF
  • CAN. Department of Defense
  • U.S. Department of Defense
  • U.S. Navy
  • U.S. Coast Guard
  • FCI
  • RoHS

USA Safe Drinking Water Act (SDWA)    

The SDWA limits the lead content to 0.25% for products in contact with drinking water. As of January 4th 2014 it is illegal for service providers to install and manufacturers to sell products that do not meet the new ‘lead free’ content law.


The objective of the 3A Sanitary Standards Committee is to formulate standards and accepted practices for equipment and systems used to process milk and milk products. Such standards are developed through all levels of sanitarians, equipment manufacturers and equipment users so those standards are acceptable to those involved in the sanitary aspects of dairy and related industries.

The 3A Symbol Administrative Council authorizes manufacturers to display the 3A symbol on processing equipment that is in compliance with 3A Sanitary Standards.


The Canadian Standards Association (CSA) includes Canadian consumers, manufacturers, labour, government, and other regulatory agencies among its actively participating influences.

The various groups work together to generate standard requirements (CSA standards) that demonstrate product quality, enhance market acceptability and improve quality and safety control procedures in manufacturing and construction for the Canadian marketplace. The standards generated by CSA are the cornerstones for determining a product’s eligibility for certification in hazardous locations in Canada.

CSA also performs product evaluation, testing and ongoing inspection to these standards and also to American and European standards through new inter-laboratory agreements.


Having a CE marking is a declaration that Winters’ product conforms to a specific Directive adopted by the EEA (European Economic Area), and is a requirement if the product is to be sold into any of the countries in this 18 member group.

CE is an abbreviation for the “Conformite Europeene”, meaning European Conformance. Unlike dangerous location approvals, CE markings are granted to products that conform to Directives which were developed using IEC and Cenelec standards. The Directives that affect transmitters are the EMC (Electromagnetic Compatibility) and LVD (Low Voltage) Directives. These state that the products must meet specific electromagnetic emission and immunity, as well as electrostatic discharge standards.

CRN (Canadian Registration Number)    

The Canadian Registration Number (CRN)  is a number issued by each province/territory in Canada to the design of boilers, pressure vessels or fittings. Industrial instrumentation such as pressure gauges, thermometers and related accessories all fall under this jurisdiction. The CRN identifies that the design has been accepted and registered for use in that province/territory.


FM Approvals is an international leader in third-party testing and certification services. They test property loss prevention products and services—for use in commercial and industrial facilities—to verify they meet rigorous loss prevention standards of quality, technical integrity and performance. How? By employing a worldwide certification process that’s backed by scientific research and testing, and over a century of experience. The FM APPROVED mark is recognized and respected worldwide. Their certification instills confidence and commands respect in the marketplace.

ISO 9001 Certificate    

Winters Instruments (Toronto) is an ISO 9001 registered organization. ISO 9001 requires an organization to demonstrate its ability to consistently provide products that meet customer and regulatory requirements, and enhance customer satisfaction through effective application of the system, including processes for continual improvement of the system and the assurance of conformity.


Underwriters Laboratories and Underwriters Laboratories of Canada maintain a high commitment to public safety and dedication to exceed customer expectations through continual improvement in the delivery of quality services. The organizations develop and publish standards, classifications and specifications for products having a bearing on fire, accident or property hazards.

If a product carries the UL mark, it means that UL found the product meeting UL’s safety requirements. These requirements are based primarily on UL’s own published Standards for Safety.


The National Association of Corrosion Engineers recommends practices such as methods of selection, design, installation, maintenance or operation of material or systems where corrosion is a factor. Some recommended practices focus on details of construction of a corrosion control system, methods of treating the surface of materials to reduce corrosion, requirements for using devices to reduce corrosion, and procedures for increasing the effectiveness, safety and economic benefits of an installation or system.


Manufacturers, regulators and consumers look to NSF International for the development of public health standards and certification programs that help protect the world’s food, water, consumer products and environment. Their mission is to protect and improve global human health. As an independent, accredited organization, NSF’s standards group facilitates the development of standards, and their service groups test and certify products and systems. They also provide auditing and risk management solutions for public health and the environment.
Founded in 1944 as the National Sanitation Foundation, they changed their name to NSF International in 1990 as they expanded their services beyond sanitation and into global markets.


The Restriction of Hazardous Substances Directive restricts the use of six hazardous materials in the manufacturing of electronic and electrical equipment. These materials are: lead, mercury, cadmium, hexavalent chromium, polybrominated biphenyls and polybrominated diphenyl ether. Being “RoHS compliant” is commonly interpreted as being “lead-free”, or having under 0.1% of lead in the material.